The boba in bubble tea is often vegan, as tapioca pearls are completely plant-based
Plant-based diets encompass a wide range of dietary patterns that contain low amounts of animal products and high amounts of plant products such as vegetables, fruits, whole cereals, legumes, nuts and seeds. They do not need to be vegan or vegetarian but are defined in terms of low frequency of animal food consumption.
https://en.wikipedia.org › wiki › Plant-based_diet
Aside from the boba itself, bubble tea is typically made two ways—as a fruity drink or a milky drink (although some people like to blend the two together). The fruity or slushy versions are almost always vegan, since they're typically made with a fruit-based syrup.
Boba goes by a number of names, but in order to call it vegan, it must not contain milk or any other animal products. Luckily, most boba pearls are made of entirely plant-based ingredients. The ingredients in the surrounding sweet tea, though, may not be.
It's likely vegan, you just can't be sure. Hold off on it if you want to be safe. The jelly can be made with agar agar powder (from seaweed, or from lychee jelly) or an agar replacement, but also gelatin (an animal product that's not vegan). Agar jelly is vegan but jelly with gelatin is not.
10 Things You Probably DIDN'T Know About Bubble Tea
Can Vegans eat tapioca?
Tapioca itself is vegan. Both the ingredients that go into it (cassava root) and the processing methods that create it are free of animal products. Most of the breads and pastas tapioca is used in are also vegan.
To avoid animal products altogether, you might want to skip the tapioca pearls (aka boba pearls). Although most boba is made from the cassava root, many stores sweeten their pearls with honey or other non-vegan ingredients. Another topping to avoid is the pudding. The pudding is usually made using eggs, so be cautious.
Your bubble tea may contain popping boba made with agar agar, a seaweed-based ingredient. The algae mix with a base liquid, like fruit juice, and turns into tiny spheres that look like fish eggs. Popping boba is entirely vegan unless it's sweetened with honey!
Boba Guys makes a full range of bubble teas and bubble coffees. They used to offer soymilk and rice milk as dairy-free options, but they've transitioned with the times. They now serve almond milk and oat milk as options for dairy-free customers.
Unfortunately not all sugar or sweeteners in bubble tea are vegan friendly. Typically in bubble tea, boba shops will use one of the following to sweeten their bubble tea offerings: simple syrup, artificial sweetener or honey.
Our plant-based creamer powder and some of the other drink powders contain dairy. If you are looking for non-dairy drinks, we recommend the brewed teas or Wintermelon drinks (aside from the Wintermelon Milk Drink)! + Do you have any non-dairy alternatives? Yes, we have soy milk and almond milk - just ask for it!
Mochi is vegan, as it typically consists of glutinous rice and red bean paste. However, Mochi Ice Cream may not be vegan if dairy is used. In recent years, more brands have released vegan versions of Mochi, such as My/Mo Mochi Cashew Cream Frozen Dessert.
My/Mo Mochi Ice Cream offers four fabulous flavors of non-dairy and vegan cashew cream frozen desserts. Why cashew cream? Because it has a silky smooth, luscious, rich texture and it eats just like dairy ice cream. And let's not forget those pillowy balls of creamy mochi dough.
Does “Popping” Boba Have Gelatin? It appears that most brands of popping boba do not contain gelatin, but we don't want to state this definitively. Popping boba seems to be regular bubble balls soaked in a sweet juice.
In this version of boba tea, rainbow jellies are used in place of tapioca pearls. The jellies are made from real coconut meat, and each has a slight coconut taste with a unique fruit flavor. The rainbow jellies are a bit softer, and their firm texture adds an extraordinary taste to your bubble tea.
To answer the question directly - yes, tea is vegan. Any tea made from plants and plants alone, is vegan and can be safely consumed as part of a vegan diet. Most teas are vegan, and those that aren't are usually vegetarian. Traditional tea is made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant.